Pumapeople: Fuel Injectors - Pumapeople

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Fuel Injectors what size are they

#1 User is offline   mrpike 

• Group: Members

Posted 28 April 2015 - 06:34 PM

Hi all can anyone tell me what size in cc's are the standard fuel injectors on a 1.7 puma. I want to find some slightly larger ones may be from a focus 1.8 or 2.0 ltr to upgrade the power a bit with a larger throttle body as the cars really goes then flats out due to to much air and not enough fuel. I'm using a k&n cone filter with cold air feed and a full 4,2,1 miltex system with sports cat.

Any advice greatly received

Mrpike

#2 User is offline   happy-kat 

• Group: Admin

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:14 PM

The Puma 1.7 is already bored out so not sure what capacity there is to bore it any more.
Hopefully someone who knows about this stuff can answer your question.
searching is fruitful | I'm a sponge not a mechanic | please do try that if stuck with a Puma problem whilst waiting for a reply | For the Puma fan this read 'The Inside Story Book' is very nice to own sometimes still seen for sale

#3 User is offline   mrpike 

Posted 28 April 2015 - 09:52 PM

Hi happy Kat I didn't mean cc as in cubic capacity, but the fuel injector is measured in cc I think its something to do with the volume of fuel it delivers as a single shot.

Mrpike.

#4 User is offline   Turby 

• View gallery
  • Group: Moderators

Posted 29 April 2015 - 12:49 PM

Don't know the injector size I'm afraid, but I do know that simply fitting larger ones wont give you any more power. In fact it will run rich, and the lambda sensor will lean off the injection timing such that it tries to run correctly. You will also have less MPG and will most likely emissions check at MOT time, along with polluting the lambda sensor.