Pumapeople: Handbrake Cable - Pumapeople

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Handbrake Cable

#1 User is offline   Steplce 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 09-October 15

Posted 18 May 2016 - 10:42 AM

just had a new front section of my handbrake replaced, it now feels to me that the rear brakes are sticking on a bit, the handbrake takes 3-4 clicks to hold the car and theres no warning light on, is it cause its a new cable and the old one was never adjusted correctly, its been for a test drive so maybe its me but didnt feel like this before the cable snapped

This post has been edited by Steplce: 18 May 2016 - 10:48 AM


#2 User is offline   eldoodarino 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 6257
  • Joined: 12-March 03
  • Location:Nottingham

Posted 19 May 2016 - 06:46 PM

Have you got rear drums?

how are the pistons?
Wizards Of Nos 60hp progressive delivery.... yeah baby yeah :-o
Denso Iridium Plugs
Helix Clutch
Mobil 1


#3 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1798
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 21 May 2016 - 01:34 AM

Warning light switch is on the handle so the cable tension shouldn't really change that, should be well on after 3 clicks.

#4 User is offline   Steplce 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 09-October 15

Posted 30 May 2016 - 11:24 AM

the cable was adjusted and its better now, only prob is, i now have a abs / traction control light on

#5 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1798
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 31 May 2016 - 10:23 AM

Likely the rear sensors have been disturbed if the fault appeared while the work was going on but always as well to have it diagnosed properly. Not a difficult job if its just a sensor.

#6 User is offline   Steplce 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 09-October 15

Posted 31 May 2016 - 04:05 PM

had fault codes read, it came up with drivers side front abs sensor, the garage said it may be the ring thats at fault and not the sensor and there's two different kinds, one's got a magnetic pick up, the other hasnt

#7 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1798
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 31 May 2016 - 10:08 PM

Front sensors are the same throughout production.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic