Pumapeople: Some Help Needed For A New Puma Owner - Pumapeople

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Some Help Needed For A New Puma Owner Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   TurboJ 

• Group: Members

Posted 04 January 2014 - 11:02 AM

I bought a '98 Puma 1.7 just a couple of days ago, and it's in pretty OK condition given the local market in Finland and the car's age.

I am a automotive professional (I deal with car spare parts for a living) and a life-long car enthusiast, doing my own mainteanance and performance mods etc since 1999.
But the Puma has some unusual features and there I hope you guys can help me out...

I know there would probably be answers to some of my questions if I searched the forum thoroughly for a few hours, but... Easier to ask and get opinions for all the right questions right away.

-The heater is acting up, but it's not the usual 'stuck to whatever temp' issue. The temp can be adjusted, but it takes minutes for the heat to change and there's not enough heat even at max setting.
Car has manual air conditioning. Is this the heat control valve or more likely the control unit in the instrument panel?

-The headlights are regrettably bad. I fitted some Osram Night Breakers in there, but I didn't notice much improvement. The full beams are quite OK, but the dipped beams are almost dangerous.
I even gave the headlight plastic covers the 'Turtle treatment' (headlight rejuveniting kit or whatever) and the covers are now clear and look fine. I'm not sure how these lense-style lights work,
are there still regular reflectors inside? I'm wondering because I can't see any, and so I can't tell if it's just the reflectors that have oxidated to cause this problem.

-There is a slight stutter (very small, but noticeable to a trained person) when accelerating between 2000-3000 rpm. It doesn't feel like anything engine-related, so I'm guessing it could be a driveshaft out-of-balance issue. I'm hoping some of