Pumapeople: Fan Fuse Popped - Pumapeople

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Fan Fuse Popped

#1 User is offline   Gaz1975 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 28-November 16

Posted 25 May 2017 - 07:03 AM

I was driving last night and all of a sudden the car shut down. I managed to get it onto the grass verge of a dual carriageway. I did panic thinking the cam belt or a tensioner had snapped and destroyed my 60k engine.

Thankfully we got a year free AA cover when we bought it in November.

It popped when I overtook a lorry. It was extremely warm last night and the car had been in the sun most of the day.

The chap with the AA said the fuse for the fan had gone, and sure enough once replaced, she roared into life and off I went.

It came up as a known issue on his screen. Is there any advice or tips for this situation in the summer?

Or maybe just the original 16 year old fuse just decided it was time to blow and actually that might be all it is Engine never over heated, it was mid point on the temp dial just before I lost drive. I make a point of always glancing at it since we replaced the faulty HCV a few months ago.

Would it actually be worthwhile replacing all the aged fuses do you guys think?

Current state of play is that it is the due cam belt servicing (5yrs 6months) I never use the A/C so I know not of its state. I thought I wouldn't touch it until the cam belt kit was fitted.

The fan is turning freely.

I have found some info on checking sensors so will do a little investigation today. But I am concerned this may happen to my other half over the summer and she gets stuck somewhere.

He stuck a 4amp fuse in instead of a 3 as that's all he had however we now have spare fuses in the glove box.

If I turn the interior blower on, turn it to hot and wind the windows down I guess that will help in the interim. Not exactly comfortable but doable.

Any tips appreciated. I will search the knowledge base see if I can find anything.

This post has been edited by Gaz1975: 25 May 2017 - 07:19 AM


#2 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1759
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 26 May 2017 - 12:42 AM

Can you confirm which fuse had gone? 3A fuses are only used for the ABS module, ECU and other control box functions and when they fail you generally find loom damage and grounding is the failure mode. I'm not convinced this is to do with heat necessarily.

#3 User is offline   Gaz1975 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 28-November 16

Posted 26 May 2017 - 09:16 AM

Hi Ian,

Yes, it would have been the ECU, it was a pinky/violet fuse. I lost all my dials and throttle.

The fan is spinning freely so I guess I need to focus on loom and earthing? Is there a wiki on how to check/repair the loom?

#4 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1759
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 26 May 2017 - 12:39 PM

ECU fuse can go for loads of reasons.

Jump starting the wrong way around the most common, I know this is not your failure but for example, doesn't necessarily implicate any single component.

Speed sensor wiring is common to lose insulation and short, sensor block is on the top rear of the gearbox - looks like this

http://www.ebay.co.u...2376838183?rd=1

Fan wiring yes but unless its routed incorrectly I've never known of it rubbing through.

#5 User is offline   Ian G 

  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 1759
  • Joined: 28-May 09
  • Location:Merseyside

Posted 26 May 2017 - 12:40 PM

Also do you think the fan won't come on? Leave it idling and watch the temp gauge make sure it doesn't get too hot, fan should come after 5 minutes or so in this weather.

#6 User is offline   Gaz1975 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 28-November 16

Posted 26 May 2017 - 07:17 PM

I had it running on the drive but couldn't get the temp to go above mid point. The fan didn't engage. But it also didn't go above mid point. I'll go out in it when I confirm the fuse situation below.
I took a look in the fuse box and I'm not sure it's correct ratings Ian.

Quite a few look wrong according to my handbook. In particular I note fuse 30 should be 15amp. It was fuse 30 that blew which had a 3 amp in.

Posted Image
upload your photos online

This post has been edited by Gaz1975: 26 May 2017 - 08:11 PM


Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic