Pumapeople: Car Diagnostic Laptop - Pumapeople

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Car Diagnostic Laptop Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 10:45 AM

Hi All,

whats the best Car Diagnostic Laptop you can get please?

or can I use my own laptop and install software on it providing I have a cable to connect to cars?

This post has been edited by JHT1888: 09 April 2014 - 10:54 AM

Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#2 User is offline   Turby 

  • View gallery
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2133
  • Joined: 11-February 03
  • Location:On a racetrack somewhere

Posted 09 April 2014 - 12:19 PM

I would look at the minimum spec of machine required by the "interface cable" you intend using. Which diagnostic interface are you looking at ?
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing (Alexander Pope - 1709)
Stop being spoon fed and GOOGLE it!

#3 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 12:28 PM

what do you mean by diagnostic interface it would just be a usb to laptop and obd2 to the socket in the puma it's an obd2 socket in the puma I think isn't it ?
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#4 User is offline   nottadam 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 12-April 13

Posted 09 April 2014 - 01:38 PM

Apparently you can get OBD2 software but my guess is you would need a fairly old laptop. Anything later than WIndows XP would probably not like it. You could go down the ' virtual PC' route though.

This post has been edited by nottadam: 09 April 2014 - 01:40 PM

FRP#008, 2001 1.6 Med Steel Blue, Fiesta 1.5 TDCi Zetec S

#5 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 02:31 PM

I've seen software on ebay thats says it takes versions of windows are you sure I would need a fairly old laptop to do this ?
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#6 User is offline   nottadam 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 12-April 13

Posted 09 April 2014 - 03:05 PM

Not certain Jamie, but I been having a quick look round myself and if someone is advertising software which is WIndows 7/8/64 bit compatible then you can usually see it stated in the ad somewhere.
If I was buying I would check first.
Paul
FRP#008, 2001 1.6 Med Steel Blue, Fiesta 1.5 TDCi Zetec S

#7 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 03:20 PM

Thanks yes I do see software thats windows 7 compatible but does not say which bit is compatible I have already asked the seller just waiting on them to reply back
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#8 User is offline   nottadam 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 12-April 13

Posted 09 April 2014 - 03:29 PM

It's the 32 bit / 64 bit issue which will more likely be a problem. If you have a newish laptop it will probably be 64 bit Windows 7 or 8. Early windows 7 will be 32 bit.
FRP#008, 2001 1.6 Med Steel Blue, Fiesta 1.5 TDCi Zetec S

#9 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 03:32 PM

It's actually a new laptop I am getting which I ordered last week I just came up with the idea today that rather than buying another laptop when I have one coming it would be cheaper just to add software onto the laptop. The Laptop has Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit installed but I can installed Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit if I had an issue with the bit
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#10 User is offline   trublustu 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 03-July 13
  • Location:West Manchester

Posted 09 April 2014 - 06:11 PM

Hi JTH,
What do yo want the diagnostics for?
Is it tuning or just fault finding?

If it just for fault codes, you can read them from the dash
or use a bluetooth ODB2 dongle and a smartphone (with correct app)

If its tuning, be very careful, ive heard it all end in tears Posted Image

This post has been edited by trublustu: 09 April 2014 - 06:12 PM


#11 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 09 April 2014 - 06:20 PM

Hi Stu, it's for fault finding, do you use or had any experience using diagnostic via laptop using diagnostic car software ?
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#12 User is offline   trublustu 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 86
  • Joined: 03-July 13
  • Location:West Manchester

Posted 09 April 2014 - 09:14 PM

No, not with a PC.
I have heard of people "tweeking" their cars who dont know what theyre doing and wrecking them, thats why I asked.

You can call up your Diagnostic codes on your car dashboard, which is what I do

goto this wiki page..
http://www.pumapeopl...tal_Dash_Unlock
and the codes..
http://www.pumapeopl...p?title=DTC%27s

#13 User is offline   Turby 

  • View gallery
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2133
  • Joined: 11-February 03
  • Location:On a racetrack somewhere

Posted 10 April 2014 - 12:23 PM

what I meant by diagnostic interface... you will need a hardware device which has takes a USB cable from the PC and also has a connector directly or indirectly to the cars OBD2 port. As well as the hardware you will also need some software which interacts with the hardware device.

IMHE the less you pay the less robust and less user friendly solution you'll get. The vast majority of cheap OBD2 diagnostics are based on "Elm" reader IC, many of which are poor chinese clones which are invariably sub-standard.
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing (Alexander Pope - 1709)
Stop being spoon fed and GOOGLE it!

#14 User is offline   JHT1888 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 3800
  • Joined: 19-December 07
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 10 April 2014 - 06:52 PM

I get that Turby :) Which software do you recommend andone that will run properly on 64bit as the one I seen on eBay the seller says that 32bit would be the recommended version as running it on 64bit would not function properly
Posted Image
Ford Puma 1.7 2008 ~ Ford Puma Thunder 1.7 2008 - ~ Ford Racing Puma (0182/500) 2011 -

#15 User is offline   Turby 

  • View gallery
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 2133
  • Joined: 11-February 03
  • Location:On a racetrack somewhere

Posted 11 April 2014 - 12:26 PM

I personally have never used one, I do like the look of http://www.scantool....obdlink-sx.html though, good support, firmware and diagnostic software is upgradable. Around 50 in the UK - worth checking 64 bit compatibility though!
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing (Alexander Pope - 1709)
Stop being spoon fed and GOOGLE it!

#16 User is offline   AlanH 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 18-May 09
  • Location:staffordshire

Posted 06 May 2014 - 08:58 PM

Most of the software states it's 32bit but it's actually 16bit, as I understand pc will only run one set below, ie if you have 64bit PC it will run 32bit software but as the software is really 16bit it won't run. As previously listed you need something running XP and out of the ark.

#17 User is offline   splice 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 241
  • Joined: 15-April 09

Posted 30 May 2014 - 12:34 PM

I've had diagnostics running fine on Windows 7, granted only 32bit but now I do it on my phone using the Torque app and a Bluetooth ODB2 interface.

I used the scantool software on the laptop can't see why it wouldn't work on 64bit tbh, I doubt they've been developing the latest releases in 16bit

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic