• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Cam Belts - Again! Take the money, or Gamble? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   twinpig 

• Group: Members

Posted 05 February 2007 - 04:40 PM

Hi All,

I know this is a topic that's been mentioned loads of times ..BUT.. ... What's the likelyhood of my bog standard 1.7 Puma going 'pop' if I don't get the cam belt changed? I just want to know if anybody on here has wrecked their engine because of leaving it too long?

The reason I ask is because I'm always sceptical of companies wanting to take my money!! I'm not good at spending money on 'routine maintenance' and so far (I'm setting myself up for a disaster here!) none of the engines on any of my vehicles have ever missed a beat - despite being left to their own devices.

My cynical mind looks at the amount of cars on the road today & divides by the amount of cars that I have ever seen with a 'blown up' engine. If I were a gambling man, then I'd say that the odds are in my favour for my engine surviving longer than the rest of the car.

That said ......I think I'm going to get it serviced, & the cam belt changed when the MOT runs out in April! huh.gif

#2 Guest_XIIVVX_*

• Group: Guests

Posted 05 February 2007 - 04:43 PM

The original spec was 10 years or 100,000 miles (from memory).

I'd guess that running it to that level you would be about 99.9% safe.

But why take the chance? It really isn't that expensive to get it changed, and you'll only lose it on the trade-in if you sell it privately later.

XIIVVX

#3 User is offline   Dezza 

• View gallery

Posted 05 February 2007 - 04:44 PM

think of it this way £200-350 for a cambelt change, which only needs doing every 5 years or 80,000miles or £2,000 for a new engine, take your pick.
Dez

#4 User is offline   pumapilot 

• View gallery

Posted 05 February 2007 - 08:16 PM