Pumapeople: Dab Radio - Pumapeople

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Dab Radio

#1 User is offline   Jimmeh 

• Group: Members

Posted 18 November 2008 - 09:05 AM

Well im new to these DAB in car radios, used to only having it on my household radio!

What I need to know is, whats the easiest way to install them? Do i need a special aerial?

And what DAB radio would you recommend?

#2 User is offline   djrinsa 

Posted 18 November 2008 - 11:26 AM

Hi Jimmeh,

DAB radios install as any other radios, and do need a DAB aerial. You can either buy a replacement aerial for your kat (Decent one you are looking at about £60 - £100 for aerial plus the leads), or you can buy an aerial you attach to your windscreen, which is a lot easier to install, cheaper, but not everyone likes it being there! Like this one on my old car:

That said, I had no complaints about the signal from that aerial and would only drop out very occasionally.

The radio I have is a JVC KD-LH401, one of the very early DAB car radios (2005 model), but still very good and can be picked up on for about £50 nowadays I think

#3 User is offline   Mimi 

Posted 25 July 2010 - 02:24 PM

Oh I'm SO glad I came across this! :rolleyes:

Just thinking about buying my first Puma but my concern was whether or not I could have my DAB in it - gotta have me DAB!!!

All I need to find out now is.... is the CD self-changing or do manual? I've got a 12-disc at the mo, and I noticed that this a 6-er... Ah, well, sometimes we have to make little sacrifices!

:cool: Cheers guys!

My planet ROCKS!! B)

This post has been edited by Mimi: 25 July 2010 - 02:28 PM

#4 User is offline   BenF 

• View gallery

Posted 25 July 2010 - 09:44 PM

why do you need a different aeriel?

Someone stole my Thunder...

#5 User is offline   MikeB 

Posted 29 July 2010 - 07:37 PM

Hi,