Pumapeople: Keeping old tyres for track days - Pumapeople

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Keeping old tyres for track days Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   happy-kat 

• Group: Admin

Posted 16 November 2004 - 09:09 PM

My current front tyres are about to be replaced as have 2mm of tread on the insides, what to do with my old tyres ja_stupid.gif (lol these lasted only 9k miles)
is it worth keeping them for track use (though I think they would only laast one day) or shall I just bin them as it is false economy thinking I could get a day out of them as it could compromise my experience and that would cost more than the tyres ja_stupid.gif

any thoughts greatly appreaciated smile.gif
searching is fruitful | I'm a sponge not a mechanic | please do try that if stuck with a Puma problem whilst waiting for a reply | For the Puma fan this read 'The Inside Story Book' is very nice to own sometimes still seen for sale

#2 User is offline   R5CPD 

• Group: Members

Posted 16 November 2004 - 09:12 PM

I'd keep them. You might as well knacker an old set of tyres, than your new set. biggrin.gif
Posted Image

#3 User is offline   eldoodarino 

• Group: Moderators

Posted 16 November 2004 - 09:19 PM

Could make interesting driving on track with the old ones on a wet day.. :help: :help:

i would think fine for a few laps round silverstone on Ford Fair in the summer cool2.gif cool2.gif

:mrgreen:
Wizards Of Nos 60hp progressive delivery.... yeah baby yeah :-o
Denso Iridium Plugs
Helix Clutch
Mobil 1

#4 User is offline   R5CPD 

Posted 16 November 2004 - 09:21 PM

Could make interesting driving on track with the old ones on a wet day..  :help:  :help:  

i would think fine for a few laps round silverstone on Ford Fair in the summer  :cool2:  :cool2:  

:mrgreen:

Obviously if there was a monsoon, then using tyres with 2mm would'nt be too clever. wink.gif
Posted Image

#5 User is offline   happy-kat