• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Spare Wheel Ties And Boot Floor

#1 User is offline   happy-kat 

• Group: Admin

Posted 21 June 2007 - 07:10 AM

another question for your help please smile.gif

I have decided I am going to fix properly to the boot floor my spare wheel for going to Germany.

I intend to use 3 strap ties (4 if I have to) and will fix the plates to the floor.
What I don't know is if the skin is single skin and I will then use bolts with a nylock washer the other side or if the floor is double skin and I will have to use say self tapping fixings.

One for V4 FRP, Dave I do not recall that I could see any protusions under your boot floor but not sure if this is just because you painted over the top of them or if your fixings are rivited please?

Any help/ideas greatfully received please this is the project for tonight.
searching is fruitful | I'm a sponge not a mechanic | please do try that if stuck with a Puma problem whilst waiting for a reply | For the Puma fan this read 'The Inside Story Book' is very nice to own sometimes still seen for sale

#2 Guest_jacko_*

• Group: Guests

Posted 21 June 2007 - 08:07 AM

im sure the boot floor is single skin but underneath their are a few box sections, id suggest drilling holes from underneath to make sure you miss the box sections.....

iv modified a wheel carrier to hold 2 ammo boxes for tools etc, cant you do the same for larger frp wheel, can get a wheel tray & bolt off any old fiesta at a scrapyard & its a 2 min job to put on & take off & requires no drilling to your lovely frp.....

#3 User is offline   V4FRP 

• Group: Members

Posted 21 June 2007 - 08:18 AM