Pumapeople: Obd Diagnostics? - Pumapeople

Jump to content

  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Obd Diagnostics?

#1 User is offline   yellowgti 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 26-July 09

  Posted 01 August 2009 - 06:32 AM

Has anybody got the diagnostic tools for plugging pumas into through the obd port? I have vagcom but obviously aint suitable for a ford lol just wanna check to see if we have any faults, would be great if somebody who has got 1 is going sunday????

cheers
Ribena 1.7i only 200bhp less than my old audi but im in luuurvvve ;) and thats all that counts.....

#2 User is offline   Dogsbody 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 4071
  • Joined: 20-March 05
  • Location:Chippenham and Beyond

Posted 01 August 2009 - 07:37 AM

I have "Scanguage" fitted to my car.
It plugs in to the ECU port and is mounted in my dash where the ashtray used to go.
I can read all fault codes, reset them ohmy.gif
Also things like speed, revs, temp, inlet temp, fuel MPG wink.gif
Not the cheapest gadget, but very good.

It's a bit awkward to remove as I have run all the cables under the dash. But the Wifes Toyota came up with a fault.
So I plugged into her car and found it was diesel heater alarm. Reset the fault and its been OK. (traded in yesterday for a new car)



If you Kat has the digital mile read out, you can read fault codes on that wink.gif
MK4 XR3i
Mk3 XR3i
R Reg 1.7 Puma
T Reg 1.7 Lux Puma
Now its Racing Puma 072

Graham

Posted Image

#3 User is offline   yellowgti 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 26-July 09

Posted 01 August 2009 - 07:57 AM

QUOTE (Dogsbody @ Aug 1 2009, 08:37 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you Kat has the digital mile read out, you can read fault codes on that wink.gif


that looks a good tool and yes i have digital readout but aint a clue what all the codes mean that you flick through on there, so how much was this scanguage then??
Ribena 1.7i only 200bhp less than my old audi but im in luuurvvve ;) and thats all that counts.....

#4 User is offline   Dogsbody 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 4071
  • Joined: 20-March 05
  • Location:Chippenham and Beyond

Posted 01 August 2009 - 09:09 AM

Scangauge is around £100, you can get it off Ebay, or from the manufacturer (Italy) I think.

You can change the display colour too, mines now the same as my Blue interior wink.gif

Follow the list below for all of the digital dash options

A) Make sure the digital display is off by turning the car
>off first, If the ignition is on before you start this procedure it will
>not work.
>B) Hold the mileage reset button and don't let go.
>C) While holding the mileage reset button turn on the car.
>D) Hold until test appears.
>E) Then press the mileage button to swap between functions
>
>Functions
>
>1. Gage Test
>2. Dial Test
>3. Bulb Test
>4. Diagnostic Check
>5. Diagnostic Check
>6. Clock Type (shows ?date 44? if UK)
>7. Diagnostic Check
>8. Speed MPH
>9. Speed KPH
>10. Revs
>11. Fuel
>12. Engine Type
>13. Temp of Engine
>14. Battery Voltage
>15. Diagnostic Check
>16. LCD Display
>Diagnostic Check (18-30)


Then just Google any fault codes. rolleyes.gif
MK4 XR3i
Mk3 XR3i
R Reg 1.7 Puma
T Reg 1.7 Lux Puma
Now its Racing Puma 072

Graham

Posted Image

#5 User is offline   xjairusx 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 17-May 09
  • Location:Staffordshire/West Midlands/Wolverhampton - All around here. lol.

Posted 01 August 2009 - 09:42 AM

Or you can get an OBD II cable if you have a laptop for £15 from ebay, use ScanTool or ScanMaster and read all fault codes or reset them. Aswell as lots of funky car pc software about! smile.gif.

#6 User is offline   FlashBastd 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3900
  • Joined: 17-August 08
  • Location:West Yorks

Posted 01 August 2009 - 09:44 AM

I too have a ScanGauge II - Graham, you need to get a spare cable, available from Amazon.com, if they won't ship over here and you want one, let me know, I have relatives over there.

The ScanGauge is great, and it also seems to show more fault codes than the instrument cluster, for example I recently had a faulty lambda, and the cluster didn't pick it up, and on someone else's late model Puma, their lambdas/cat chucked up a fault, MIL light was on, but the display still said none.

Your VAGcom might read faults, just won't let you see any settings.

Cheaper scan tools are available, but the ScanGauge is useful as it is also a fuel computer / data logger.
2005 Vauxhall VX220 Turbo
2000 Ford Focus 1.6i Ghia
2006 Renault Clio 2.0i RenaultSport 197 - SOLD
2005 Honda CR-V 2.0i Executive auto
2001 Ford Puma 1.7i Black

#7 User is offline   yellowgti 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 26-July 09

Posted 01 August 2009 - 10:07 AM

so if i use the digi dash one, how do i select to diagnose any faults?? i no how to get onto that but dont no how to read the codes from it??? cheers
Ribena 1.7i only 200bhp less than my old audi but im in luuurvvve ;) and thats all that counts.....

#8 User is offline   FlashBastd 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3900
  • Joined: 17-August 08
  • Location:West Yorks

Posted 01 August 2009 - 10:35 AM

Scroll though, one of the options will scroll between "DTC" and either "NONE" or the fault codes. Then just google the fault codes.
2005 Vauxhall VX220 Turbo
2000 Ford Focus 1.6i Ghia
2006 Renault Clio 2.0i RenaultSport 197 - SOLD
2005 Honda CR-V 2.0i Executive auto
2001 Ford Puma 1.7i Black

#9 User is offline   yellowgti 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 26-July 09

Posted 01 August 2009 - 11:05 AM

cheers for that dude, certainly didnt say the word NONE when i was looking the other day so i must have a few, will have a look later wink.gif
Ribena 1.7i only 200bhp less than my old audi but im in luuurvvve ;) and thats all that counts.....

#10 User is offline   TrUeJaY 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 29-July 06
  • Location:London

Posted 01 August 2009 - 11:14 AM

i have a 99 plate ford puma 1.4 .... can i do them diagnostics in my car as its not a post 2000.

#11 User is offline   FlashBastd 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3900
  • Joined: 17-August 08
  • Location:West Yorks

Posted 01 August 2009 - 11:15 AM

if it has a digi dash, then yes.
2005 Vauxhall VX220 Turbo
2000 Ford Focus 1.6i Ghia
2006 Renault Clio 2.0i RenaultSport 197 - SOLD
2005 Honda CR-V 2.0i Executive auto
2001 Ford Puma 1.7i Black

#12 User is offline   billybillythedog 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 30-August 03
  • Location:Nottingham

Posted 01 August 2009 - 12:06 PM

QUOTE (FlashBastd @ Aug 1 2009, 10:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I too have a ScanGauge II - Graham, you need to get a spare cable, available from Amazon.com, if they won't ship over here and you want one, let me know, I have relatives over there.

The ScanGauge is great, and it also seems to show more fault codes than the instrument cluster, for example I recently had a faulty lambda, and the cluster didn't pick it up, and on someone else's late model Puma, their lambdas/cat chucked up a fault, MIL light was on, but the display still said none.

Your VAGcom might read faults, just won't let you see any settings.

Cheaper scan tools are available, but the ScanGauge is useful as it is also a fuel computer / data logger.

Hi
Interested in the Scangauge11, do you get all you need in the package to fit the Puma, or do you have to buy extra cables/plugs ?
Mark

#13 User is offline   FlashBastd 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3900
  • Joined: 17-August 08
  • Location:West Yorks

Posted 01 August 2009 - 12:22 PM

All there is, is the unit and the cable, that is all you need. I also used some velcro to mount it, Dogsbody mounted his slightly differently, but essentially you get everything you need to use it.
2005 Vauxhall VX220 Turbo
2000 Ford Focus 1.6i Ghia
2006 Renault Clio 2.0i RenaultSport 197 - SOLD
2005 Honda CR-V 2.0i Executive auto
2001 Ford Puma 1.7i Black

#14 User is offline   YOG 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2928
  • Joined: 30-August 07
  • Location:West Sussex

Posted 01 August 2009 - 12:50 PM

Wiki:

Digital Dash Unlock , Diagnosis:
http://www.pumapeople.com/forum/index.php?...icle&id=109

DTC's , Diagnostic Trouble Codes:
http://www.pumapeople.com/forum/index.php?...ticle&id=94


Rick

The Haynes Fiesta Manual (3397) can answer a lot of your questions.
Posted Image

#15 User is offline   Dogsbody 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 4071
  • Joined: 20-March 05
  • Location:Chippenham and Beyond

Posted 01 August 2009 - 04:21 PM

QUOTE (FlashBastd @ Aug 1 2009, 10:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Cheaper scan tools are available, but the ScanGauge is useful as it is also a fuel computer / data logger.

On the parade laps at Castle Combe's RS day this year, Scanguage reported 3.1MPG laugh.gif
Just as well we only got 2 laps, I would have run out of fuel.

It was revving to near the limiter in 2nd and 3rd at the time wink.gif

I will make a note about the cable.
Thanks good.gif

This post has been edited by Dogsbody: 01 August 2009 - 04:23 PM

MK4 XR3i
Mk3 XR3i
R Reg 1.7 Puma
T Reg 1.7 Lux Puma
Now its Racing Puma 072

Graham

Posted Image

#16 User is offline   TrUeJaY 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 29-July 06
  • Location:London

Posted 02 August 2009 - 12:29 PM

does a 99 plate have a digital dash ...???



#17 User is offline   Dogsbody 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 4071
  • Joined: 20-March 05
  • Location:Chippenham and Beyond

Posted 02 August 2009 - 03:04 PM

QUOTE (TrUeJaY @ Aug 2 2009, 01:29 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
does a 99 plate have a digital dash ...???

My T Reg did.
Thats 99 I think??
MK4 XR3i
Mk3 XR3i
R Reg 1.7 Puma
T Reg 1.7 Lux Puma
Now its Racing Puma 072

Graham

Posted Image

#18 User is offline   TrUeJaY 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 29-July 06
  • Location:London

Posted 02 August 2009 - 03:52 PM

no just checked .. it doesnt ... daymnnnnnn... coz the mileage is manual ... how do i check diagnostics without digital dash?

#19 User is offline   FlashBastd 

  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 3900
  • Joined: 17-August 08
  • Location:West Yorks

Posted 02 August 2009 - 04:12 PM

You need some form of scan tool then.
2005 Vauxhall VX220 Turbo
2000 Ford Focus 1.6i Ghia
2006 Renault Clio 2.0i RenaultSport 197 - SOLD
2005 Honda CR-V 2.0i Executive auto
2001 Ford Puma 1.7i Black

#20 User is offline   chestnutree 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1561
  • Joined: 06-January 09
  • Location:Stapleford, Nottingham

Posted 05 August 2009 - 11:11 AM

QUOTE (xjairusx @ Aug 1 2009, 10:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Or you can get an OBD II cable if you have a laptop for £15 from ebay, use ScanTool or ScanMaster and read all fault codes or reset them. Aswell as lots of funky car pc software about! smile.gif .


I've always wondered if this is possible as i don't have a tool to do it. My study with PC is on the side of the house where the drive is, so i was kinda hopin i could get a long enough cable to go from pc, out of the window to the car. Possible? can u get the software free? what else can be done apart from looking at codes? a while ago an ABS sensor went, but the code doesn't say which one. if this happened again, would hooking it up to the pc like this enable me to find out which sensor has gone?

Share this topic:


  • 2 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic